Starting a Legacy

So, I’ve started my Sims 3 Legacy challenge. If you don’t know what the hell I am going on about, this challenge involves creating a Sim, moving them into the biggest available lot, and then playing through 10 generations of that Sim’s family. No cheats allowed. You can read more about it here.

My ‘founding’ Sim is called Kennedy. She’s a wannabe astronaut who loves nothing more than hitting the gym. Check her out doing some cardio training:

Kennedy working out

The biggest challenge I am facing at the moment is my severe lack of funds. As the rules state I had to by the biggest lot, that left Kennedy with less than $2,000 to build a house from. She’s got a job now, working in the mess hall at the army barracks, which is bringing in some much needed cash. I can almost afford an actual oven. And she no longer needs to go to the gym across town to have a shower.

Her house could do with a bit of a spruce up, but her ‘handy’ trait is useful for when her cheap fixtures and fitting decide to give up on life. Trait-wise, I have given her the most useful for her military career – ambitiousness, athleticism, handiness, bravery, and a lot of luckiness. Unfortunately, the rules state that all Sims born during the legacy challenge must have their traits rolled for using the randomiser button. So things are probably going to get a lot more difficult going forward.

Romance-wise, she is starting to build up a bit of a friendship with her boss, Jack Bunch. She loves a man in uniform, what can I say? Yes, he’s married, and yes, he has many children. But the heart wants what it wants.

All I know is that I need to get her up the career ladder as soon as possible if I want to fulfil her lifetime wish of blasting off into space, whilst also getting her a baby to continue the legacy. Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

