Why on Earth did I decide to be an Accountant?

I’m struggling, again.

Whoever decided that working a 37 hour a week job whilst also studying for two crazy hard exams at a time was a good idea needs their head testing. I’m back at accountancy school this week, and a bit of next, and I have absolutely no idea what is going on.

I’m sitting a mock tomorrow, and I have spent the evening looking back through the course notes, trying to make a little bit of sense out of this mess. I don’t understand hedging. I don’t even know where to begin with business valuation. What even is an IRR? This isn’t anything to do with my day job. I am going to fail so hard.

I felt this way about Financial Accounting and Reporting, but at least that was day-job-relevant. I knew all the basics. This is an entirely new area of accountancy for me, even though my AAT exams exempted me from the knowledge level paper. So it is straight in at the deep end, again.

I can’t even begin to understand how new graduates come straight into this from study. Work teaches you so much more about this than school. Even then, I have two and a half years experience and I still feel like I want to cry.

My exams are in  nine weeks. I need all the miracles I can get right now.

Leave a comment